Uninsured motorists can cause serious injury and damage when they’re involved in a car accident, and accident victims are often left paying for their own damages as a result. With the growing cost of car insurance policies across the country, more drivers are choosing to drive without insurance or without enough insurance coverage.
In fact, according to the Insurance Information Institute, 13% of all motorists in the country are driving without insurance. In Arizona, the number of uninsured motorists is estimated to be on par with the national average.
If you are injured in an accident with an uninsured driver or a driver that doesn’t carry enough insurance, obtaining compensation for your injuries and damages may not be easy. However, you may have several legal options available to you, including.
- Own Insurance Policy – injured accident victims may be able to turn to their own insurance policy to pay for damages and expenses. However, this option is only available to those drivers who have purchased UM/UIM coverage.
- File a Civil Lawsuit – if the “at fault” diver has sufficient income or enough assets to cover the compensation claim, you may be able to file a lawsuit against them to recover damages.
- Seek Compensation from “At Fault” Driver’s Insurance – if the driver was underinsured, you may be able to collect some or most of your damages from their insurance policy before filing a lawsuit or turning to your own policy.
Required Insurance in Arizona
By law, Arizona drivers are required to purchase a minimum amount of Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability insurance. Drivers are also offered Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage. However, they can waive this coverage by speaking to the company that provides their insurance policy.
All drivers in Arizona are required to meet or exceed the following minimum coverage levels:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage – a minimum of $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage – a minimum of $10,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage – a minimum of $15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident
Depending on your needs, it may be recommended to purchase additional insurance policies or choose higher coverage limits.
After an accident with an uninsured driver, you may face a long and uphill battle with insurance companies, even when you have Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist insurance coverage. That’s why your first call should be to an experienced Phoenix car accident lawyer.
Contact Our Phoenix Car Accident Lawyers Today
If you or someone you love has been the victim of a car accident in Phoenix with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, you may be left paying for your own damages. At Miller, Weber, Kory, LLP, our Phoenix car accident lawyers know that being involved in an accident with an uninsured driver is scary and confusing. Who will pay your medical expenses and car repair bills?
When this occurs, you need an experienced and skilled car accident lawyer in your corner, helping you to fight for your rights to maximum compensation. Contact us today at (602)833-8981 for a free initial consultation and review of your case. We are here when you need us the most – and we will fight for you every step of the way.